My HTML and CSS journey

My HTML and CSS journey

A short story about pain

hello world,I am Dipanjan Sur

Introduction about me

  • I am just a techie who is interested in learning web technology and learning all about a web application works. How mail services work, how e-commerce applications work how databases work, and how to make any servers work all interest me very much. Recently, I completed my Bachelor's degree in Electronics and trying to pursue a career in full-stack web development.

    My recent skills

    • Java
    • DSA with java
    • Docker(beginner level knowledge)
    • Spring Boot
    • HTML and CSS

    MY HTML and CSS journey

  • To get started with the full-stack web developer journey first step is to master the front-end web development. One of the major parts of the front-end is to learn HTML and CSS. Though the rise of front-end frameworks like React, Angular is easy to jump right into those. But to understand the under-the-hood mechanics HTML and CSS play a huge role.

  • If you had an interest in web development you must have learned HTML and CSS from different tutorials site but to actually learn HTML and CSS you have to do a lot of practice writing 1000 lines of code. This will help you master where to use which component and write a lot of .html pages. Writing that many websites in raw HTML by just following Figma files gives you a lot of confidence boost and gives you a vision that will help out a plan on how to write more optimized HTML.

  • HTML is somwhere manageble but CSS was a disater for me.Though after reading many CSS tutorials I was unable to write any CSS. The easiest way out from there would be to use a library like TailwindCss, bootstrap that will manage all the CSS for you. But the problem is the same it gives a layer of abstraction so the basics remain unclear. so when I tried to build any website with raw CSS it took me like 7 hours or something like that. But as I practiced more and build more websites I became more confident and by playing with MDN CSS docs I got a basic understanding of some basic properties.
    you can check out my progress by following my GitHub and checking out my projects there where you will find all the codes and live deployed links of all my struggles
    Github profile link

My Lessons after spending 2 weeks working with HTML and CSS is

  • There are thousands of ways to do the same thing in CSS and properties will seem very the same but practicing more and more gives a more clear picture.
  • practice more, and build more clones of any website available on the internet.

I am just getting started in the front-end dev journey and a have lot to learn and a lot to build

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Dipanjan Sur by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!